Coming Home

After a stressful day at work, especially a day like today that ends badly, it’s such a relief to get home and spend time with the pack.

I’m sitting on the couch while I write this, with an NCIS marathon on USA. It’s an episode I’ve seen only about a million times. Gryphon is sleeping on the recliner. Seelie was curled up on the couch next to me, but he left a few minutes ago to do something he seemed to think was super important. Raven is still outside; she’d stay out 24/7 if I’d let her. Merlin is standing in front of the couch, staring at me and trying to use his psychic powers to get me to throw the frisbee.

There’s a calm, quiet feeling that I only sense when I’m with the dogs. They don’t have the stresses, the deadlines, the demands. They live in the moment. That’s a skill I wish I could master. It would be wonderful not to dwell on the negatives, or anticipate tomorrow’s problems. I can’t avoid all that at this point in my life, but being with the dogs makes those issues seem a little less important.

In a few minutes, I’ll get up and feed them… it won’t be very quiet anymore, as anyone who’s read my previous post about feeding time will know! That’s alright, though, because there will be more quiet times ahead.

Leave a Reply

