The Problem with Facebook

I suppose that title should read, “my particular problem with Facebook.” There are certainly multiple problems… the one I run into is that I feel there’s more I should do but can’t.

I have many friends on Facebook who are dog people – pet owners, trainers, serious competitors. I also follow several rescue groups, and have many friends involved with rescue.

The problem is the multitude of lost dogs, injured dogs, dogs on death row, dogs needing foster homes, dogs in shelters… many of them, every day. Plenty of happy endings too, stories of dogs reunited with their families, dogs who find new families, dogs for whom money has been raised for their medical problems.

I find myself avoiding Facebook at times, because I can’t deal with seeing more pictures of abused animals. I don’t have the space or time or financial resources to adopt more dogs, or even to foster one… it wouldn’t be fair to my four, who don’t get enough of my time as it is.

I feel guilty, as if I have a responsibility to help these dogs, even when I know I can’t. I give financial support to certain rescues when I can, and I’ve done short-term fosters in the past. More than half the dogs in my life have been rescues… but it’s never enough.

I get to see all sorts of wonderful pictures of friends’ dogs, stay connected with dog people I haven’t seen in a long time, and see all those happy endings. Facebook allows me to easily stay in touch with Seelie’s and Merlin’s foster moms, let them see pictures and updates on how these guys are doing. There are times, though, when the negatives seem to outweigh the positives, and I find myself staying away from the site more and more, just scanning it quickly because I know there are stories in my newsfeed I really don’t want to see.

10 thoughts on “The Problem with Facebook

  1. I understand this completely. I have cats, not dogs, but it’s the same idea. You want a happy ending for every animal, but you also need a life for yourself and the pets that you do have. Facebook can be great, but it also brings us things we don’t want or need. Enjoy your dogs; I’m sure you are giving them a wonderful life.

    Like

  2. I, too, have cats. Some of our cats have been shelter cats. Some have even been strays. I don’t know that there is a more loving.g animal than one who has been rescued. Even though I would like to take in every shelter cat I see, I know it is not feasible. I do what I can to support our local shelters and hope others are doing so as well.

    Like

  3. How wonderful that you are a rescuer! I don’t have anything against pure breeds, or anything, I just feel like there are so many sweet pups out there that need a home and need some love!! Our new fur-baby is a found/rescued dog and she is the SWEETEST, most loving little girl. My bf was skeptical because he’s only ever bought from breeders. I wish more people were like you and then we might not have to see so many sad, lost, little animals. Have you tried staying friends with them but removing some of the posts from your feed? Then you will only see them when you want to.

    Like

    • I have removed some posts that were just too agonizing, and it has made a difference. I’ll continue to both rescue and get dogs from breeders, although I think the rescues will outnumber the rest.

      Like

Leave a Reply

